home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2021, 12:25 PM   #1
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default CAS pull-ups MS3X

Looking at the hardware manual for MS3X, I see the CAS inputs- MS3X cam, MS3 crank. These are “hall sensor open collector”, so will need pull-up resistors. Unsure of where physically to put the resistors-JP7? In the harness from input to ground?
__________________
I coulda had a V8!
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 12:42 PM   #2
Harlard
Hurlurd?Harland?Bueller?
 
Harlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PDX
Default

Is it an assembled v3.57 board?
__________________


Herr Harlard am Erstens

1979 242 DL

Quote:
Originally Posted by t8fanning View Post
My knob has a big chunk of steel on it
Harlard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 12:51 PM   #3
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

Yes- using Yoshifab CAS
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 12:57 PM   #4
Harlard
Hurlurd?Harland?Bueller?
 
Harlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PDX
Default

You don't need a pull-up, then. Just make sure there's a jumper on JP3, JP7 and nothing on JP8.

Last edited by Harlard; 11-01-2021 at 01:06 PM..
Harlard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 01:16 PM   #5
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

Just trying to sort out after reading the hardware manual and the CAS thread on Tb- much of which disappeared with Gross Polluter’s departure.
The DIY site discussion of Megasquirt-III with MS3X says to set the main board for VR input(?) - I thought the VR circuits are not used.
Quote DIY-“ On a V3.57, put JO1 in the 1-2 position and J1 in the 3-4 position.”
Since I have not opened the box yet, I have no idea what this means or what it applies to hall sensor open collector.
“For a pull-up on the CMP input, make sure JP7 is in place on the MS3X.”
Is JP7 a simple jumper and the 1K is enabled by this? Or is JP7 jumped with a 1K?
“ The CKP also needs pull-up. You can put this in place internally or externally. For an external, run a
1K resistor from pin 26 to pin 24 on the main board.
For an internal pull up on a V3.57 board, solder a 1K resistor to R 57”
Just a little confusing to me
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 01:20 PM   #6
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlard View Post
You don't need a pull-up, then. Just make sure there's a jumper on JP3, JP7 and nothing on JP8.
Thanks, Harold
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 01:55 PM   #7
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

I always used 1k pullups built into the harness. don't be surprised if it acts odd running the input into the VR conditioner.
__________________
"They bum rushed them in their own crib, they drank all their beer, they partied with their ladies and they left with the trophy"

Now with in-house Dyno tuning!

Megasquirt Tuning!
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 02:05 PM   #8
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
I always used 1k pullups built into the harness. don't be surprised if it acts odd running the input into the VR conditioner.
I saw you said not to use VR conditioner in the thread- if I use cam to MS3X input and crank to Main board input with 1K to ground on each- would that work?
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 02:12 PM   #9
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

the ms3x cam input is a vr conditioner as well. I ended up getting an external MAX9926 based conditioner for mine (same deal as the ms3pro and microsquirt rpm inputs). still need the pullups, but you'd wire/solder the outputs directly to the pin inputs on the processor.

the problem I always had with the old vr conditioners was some sort of signal drift (for lack of a better description), timing was unstable at higher rpms and the car seemed 'off' all the time until I made the change, then it started behaving. I've actually run into that a couple of times on a couple different cars, this was the safest (electronics wise) way I found to get around it.
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 02:39 PM   #10
Harlard
Hurlurd?Harland?Bueller?
 
Harlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PDX
Default

Interesting. I figured that drift was a function of timing belt stretch.

This makes me want a Maxxecu even more now...
Harlard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 03:58 PM   #11
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

Oh, jeez- I think I screwed the pooch-I removed the two screws holding the black sensor to flip the wheel .
Time for a new CAS?
These:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 213C2BF9-D434-4EE0-BB46-2816196D2A1C.jpg (211.0 KB, 40 views)
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 04:01 PM   #12
AndrewNance
Amateur hour!
 
AndrewNance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Default

I did that on mine too before reading that you aren’t supposed to but it didn’t ruin anything.
__________________
'67 122 - b230, t5, 8.8
Feedback

AndrewNance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 04:05 PM   #13
MikeSr.
What, me worry?
 
MikeSr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Acworth, Ga. USA
Default

Good- thought I broke it
MikeSr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.