home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > General > showroom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2017, 01:58 PM   #26
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.H. Yount View Post
If it went in without a 'resistor' adjustment, it's likely set up for a 12V signal just as the VDO tach was. When I hooked up the LS ecu output (5V) to the stock Volvo/VDO tach without any adjustment, it read WAY low. Had to "T" in another 12V connection through a 1000 ohm resistor.

Don't know my Civic nomenclature -- what year did the tach come out of?
ek civic is 96 - 00. I believe the EG civic, 92 - 95, also has the same size gauges.

And yeah, the tach output wire from MS is going straight into the signal in the tach, nothing in between.
__________________
.
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 02:02 PM   #27
M.H. Yount
Board Member
 
M.H. Yount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

Oh -- my bad -- forgot the MS (forgot aftermarket ecu)....do you know what voltage output signal it provides?
__________________
'82 242 6.2L; '17 Mazda3; '16 CrossTrek
M.H. Yount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 04:53 AM   #28
FreeEMSFred
Board Member
 
FreeEMSFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kiwiland
Default

Nice work. Inspiring. My 240 wagon hasn't had a working tach since I bought it. My 244 has one, though, so I'll probably just pilfer that, however this (or similar) could be a good drop in for that car, at that point. Thanks for sharing it :-)
FreeEMSFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 10:01 AM   #29
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.H. Yount View Post
Oh -- my bad -- forgot the MS (forgot aftermarket ecu)....do you know what voltage output signal it provides?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broke4speed
It uses a square wave, 5v
^^
__________________
85 GLH 367whp
00 Insight mpg > yours.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2022, 11:18 PM   #30
ncd2294
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Post Civic Tach Info

Old thread, but wanted to add some info for anyone else interested in trying this.

EG tachs (92-95) use a tach signal from the distributor (Ignition Control Module).

For EK tachs, 96-98 also use a signal from the distributor.

99-00 EK tachs use the square wave signal from the ECU.

DC2 Integras might have the same transition period (94-98 for Distributor, 99-01 for 5V square wave)

My Integra tach is from a 96.

I've tested a DC2 Integra and EG tach on a 240 by wiring the Signal to the Negative terminal on the coil. Both worked without issue. (The EG tach needed some adjustment, read a little low).

From what I can tell, the EG and early EK tachometers can handle using the signal off the negative Terminal on the coil, without issue. Not sure about the later EK tachs.

Don't have one to test (and possibly fry).

The Integra tach is too big to fit in the Tach/Clock section of a 84+ 240 cluster.
Unfortunately, it's roughly the same size as the Speedometer.
Might be nice for a custom cluster, like a STACK style.



Really liked the response and sweep vs the EG tach I ended up installing for a friend's Wagon (Part #: HR 0143-013)



Though the EG tach worked and looks cool (9k rpm), I'd say use an EK tacho if you don't mind the Blue.

The shape of the Gauge face requires more trimming to fit the 240 cluster vs the OP's EK tach.



Also, the location of the EG tacho PCB makes it a bit tough to fit. It's mounted off center towards the top of the gauge, so it touches the opening in the top of the Gauge Cluster PCB.





Required some clearancing with the dremel, as well and trimming the tachometer PCB edges. Still, is a friction fit. But, it does work.

Power and Ground are taken from the pins that used to power the 240 Clock.
Then add a wire to the TA on the Tacho, and run it to the Red/White wire that's not plugged into anything behind the dash (on 86+ 240s).

The 85 Wagon I put this tach in required me to run a wire through the firewall. Pretty easy. The grommet for the throttle cable has plenty of give and the wire is easy to see/pull through when the cluster is removed.



ncd2294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2022, 04:42 PM   #31
Old Iron
I Roll
 
Old Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dela-Where?
Default

Well done.
__________________
Turbobricked


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous View Post
No sarcastic replies from Redwood Chair necessary
Old Iron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2022, 05:25 PM   #32
daijoubanai
waste of skin and blood
 
daijoubanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncd2294 View Post
Old thread, but wanted to add some info for anyone else interested in trying this.

EG tachs (92-95) use a tach signal from the distributor (Ignition Control Module).

For EK tachs, 96-98 also use a signal from the distributor.

99-00 EK tachs use the square wave signal from the ECU.

DC2 Integras might have the same transition period (94-98 for Distributor, 99-01 for 5V square wave)

I've tested a DC2 Integra and EG tach on a 240 by wiring the Signal to the Negative terminal on the coil. Both worked without issue. (The EG tach needed some adjustment, read a little low).
I didn't know there was a difference. I just bought an EK tach because it was cheap on Ebay. I wanted an EG as I think they look better, but went with the cheaper option. So I'm not actually sure what year Civic it came out of. But it does use the tachout from MS, which I believe is a 5V square wave.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncd2294 View Post
Also, the location of the EG tacho PCB makes it a bit tough to fit. It's mounted off center towards the top of the gauge, so it touches the opening in the top of the Gauge Cluster PCB.

Required some clearancing with the dremel, as well and trimming the tachometer PCB edges. Still, is a friction fit. But, it does work.
Yeah, had to trim the cluster with the EK tach as well, as its also off center.


Being able to run the early tachs from the signal from the coil is good to know.
daijoubanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2022, 10:07 PM   #33
ncd2294
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daijoubanai View Post
I didn't know there was a difference. I just bought an EK tach because it was cheap on Ebay. I wanted an EG as I think they look better, but went with the cheaper option. So I'm not actually sure what year Civic it came out of. But it does use the tachout from MS, which I believe is a 5V square wave.
It's possible the late tachs are also capable of handling the Coil - signal. But, I don't have one to test, and the ones I've found on Ebay cost more than I'm willing to potentially destroy.

I also don't have a setup that produces a 5V Square wave to see if these older tachs can read it with any accuracy.

If I do come across a car I can test that with, I'll update the thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daijoubanai View Post
Yeah, had to trim the cluster with the EK tach as well, as its also off center.


Being able to run the early tachs from the signal from the coil is good to know.
Thanks for starting this thread and documenting your install.
Would've never known it could work without you showing it was possible.

If you look at the pic of the EG tach running you can actually see the gauge face is slightly offset down & left. The PCB is still being pressed on by the 240 Cluster PCB, when everything is assembled.

So, will have to figure out how to get that little bit more clearance at the top.
ncd2294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2022, 11:12 PM   #34
Radtap
Board Member
 
Radtap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Sweat zone, Arizona
Default

The black on the honda gauge seems to match the cluster plastic better than the original gauges, if only there were matching faces for the other gauges. Looks pretty sick
__________________
Feedback
Radtap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2022, 10:48 AM   #35
J_Jones
Board Member
 
J_Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Default

Thanks for sharing!
J_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.